top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Kent

Beyond the Badge: The Girl Scout Easy Bake Oven

Updated: Sep 8, 2021


I’m one of those adults trying to fight the urge to rebuy all my favorite childhood toys and knowing they are all on eBay has made this a lot harder. A few months ago I came across a sale listing for an Easy Bake Oven that I just couldn’t stop thinking about. When I was a kid, I fondly remember one snow day when I was a kid making a cake using a pink and black Easy-Bake Oven. I always wanted to recreate the memory with one of my nieces and I'm hoping the post-covid era will allow it. So for the second time in my life, I became the proud owner of an Easy-Bake Oven, but this one makes Girl Scout cookies!


In the fall of 2015, Girl Scouts partnered with Wicked Cool Toys to produce a Girl Scout Easy-Bake oven. People loved it with its green trefoil baking knob and purple trefoil detailing on the front. A line of Girl Scout Cookie-themed baking packs was released and there was huge hype over being able to make Girl Scouts inspire cookies at home. Articles online at the time show no sign of negative feedback of Girl Scouts taking another corporate sponsor only a year after the conversion of the Girl Scout Barbie. It's actually interesting to note that none of the other corporate sponsors that Girl Scouts has taken like Build a Bear or any of their food partnerships have seemed to attract the same backlash as Barbie.

This spring, I received my Girl Scout Easy-Bake Oven after finding a really good deal on eBay. It came with two additional baking packs of the Trefoil cookies and the Thin Mints. I’ve always been interested to see how they taste but I'm definitely not brave enough to bake and eat a pack that came out in 2015. Lucky, someone did it for me, and recently the drag queen, Trixie Mattel posted a video on her channel baking the Trefoil cookies using the Girl Scout oven and it's a fun watch for an older audience.


Thanks for Reading!

EM

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page