top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Kent

Beyond the Badge: The Girl Guide Chocolatey Mint Blizzard


We have probably all had those nights where we broke out the ice cream at midnight and April 7th was it for me. I had told a friend that if we went back into a real lockdown and my store closed again that I would mark the occasion with the Girl Guide Chocolatey Mint Blizzard. It’s a tasty treat; it’s frozen vanilla ice cream with crumbled-up Mint Girl Guide Cookies. So late that night, I took to Uber Eats to place an order for the Girl Guide Cookie Blizzard from my local Dairy Queen.


This wasn’t my first time having the Girl Guide Cookie Blizzard. Last fall, when they were testing it across Ontario, I was lucky enough to live a few blocks away from one of the eight Dairy Queen test locations. It was a chilly day in October so I bundled up and got my snack-size blizzard and ate it while staying warm in my winter jacket. So safe to say I enjoyed it much more this time around. I know the minty cookies are traditionally a fall release but the spring seems like a better fit for a frozen treat.


It’s exciting to see Girl Guides of Canada doing these types of partnerships and it's something I hope they continue I’m pretty sure you can find these across Canada as one of my best friends sent me a selfie of her eating one in Jasper, Alberta. The Blizzard is fun and a great way to let people know that GGC is still around! Personally, I would love to see a Girl Guide Cookies donut from Tim Hortons or even some kind of toy partnership.


Special Thanks to Slappy for sending me a selfie!


Thanks for reading! - EM


bottom of page